It’s gone off the bullsh*t density detector!

I haven’t had the best weekend already. First the realisation that if I hadn’t cocked up my course I would’ve finished my final school placement on Friday. Then we have Ed Miliband pushing me the closest I have ever come to burning my Labour party membership card. But something topped all of that yesterday.

Now I recognise that there’s little chance of this coming to fruition, but it’s times like this that makes me realise that Cameron still does represent the ‘moderate’ wing of the Conservative party. Turns out that backbench Conservative MPs have drawn up an “Alternative Queen’s Speech“. There are a fair few aspects to this “Alternative Queen’s Speech” which I’ll trawl through:

1. Gay Marriage referendum.

This is a proposal popular with many Conservative backbenchers and is so stupid on so many levels. Simply because the proposal didn’t appear in any major party manifesto many MPs have been clambering for a referendum. I’m just curious where their similar requests are for a referendum on the NHS top-down reorganisation? Must’ve fallen off the cliff with their recent shift to the right.

2. Bring back capital punishment

To a degree, I have already covered this, but I’ll have another crack. First, there’s absolutely no evidence to show that it’d act as a deterrent with many capital punishment states in the USA having higher homicide rates than non-capital punishment states. On a far more philosophical note, I don’t believe in having a judicial system that’s based on revenge. If you deem it appropriate to kill someone simply because they killed someone else, that ain’t “justice” (a term I have my own problems with, though I wont open that kettle of fish now) that’d be revenge.

3. Abolishing the department of Energy and Climate Change

Again, this is stupid on so many levels. Just read this and go sit in a corner with a Dunce hat on.

Dunce hat! NOW!

4. Changing the August bank-holiday to ‘Margaret Thatcher day’

If we haven’t set up a bank holiday for Churchill, with the long list of favourable historical revisionism and cherry-picking by modern “historians”on his premiership, then why should Thatcher get get a look-in? And then why not Attlee, my own personal favourite post-war Prime Minister?

Yes, the proposed measures will probably not pass, but it doesn’t mean I’m not worried. And yes, I have taken a rather broad stroke at this news story. But, the new 2010 intake of Conservative MPs have established a reputation for independence from the frontbench and being a tad more right-wing than the Cabinet. My worry is the possible chance of a Conservative majority come 2015 with the recent shift to the right.

Sometimes I despair for humanity.

MAX

This entry was posted in Conservative, Culture, Ed Miliband, Equality, Law and Order, LGBTQ rights, Max, Tories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

